Adventures in Dating Land

The Chemical Imbalance

Posted on: February 23, 2009

Didn’t go to class today, due to some serious aches and pains, and a shiny new cold sore that’s taken residence on my lip. I went to work, since I had skipped last Friday to go see my friend, but I could miss one more of this class and still be “okay.”

I FINALLY heard back from Blondie….well, sort of.

Me (via text): Hey, I have NO idea what I said to you the other night, but I’m really sorry and really embarassed. That is not me at all, and I don’t want you to have the wrong idea that I’m just some crazy party girl.

Blondie (vt): Hey, don’t sweat it, I don’t think that. I was going to text you earlier, but this week’s been rough and it’s still going.

Me: Oh, ok. Yeah, same. I have a huge bruise on my knee from where I fell Saturday, kinda painful. I hope your week gets better.

Blondie: Thanks, hope your bruise heals up!

I was going to leave it at that, but of course my curiosity got the better of me..so half an hour later…

Me: Hey, so when your schedule takes a breather, you want to hang out again? You still owe me that sushi. (Sushi was from a previous conversation we had.)

And nothing. I’m still waiting. I don’t get him. If he REALLY wasn’t interested in me, he just wouldn’t talk to me. But interest implies, you know, talking. Not sporatic texts. I’m getting the feeling that he’s more not interested than interested. I’m trying not to be pushy, especially if it has been a busy week, and maybe I’m overanalyzing. Maybe I’m just too used to getting the brush off to experience a guy doing anything else to me. It was practically a miracle to me when my last boyfriend, who was this GORGEOUS Irish guy, actually was interested. Of course he still was a letdown…but a second date seemed like a divine providence.

Maybe that’s my problem. Or one of them. I think that if a guy does call me back to go out again, we must be falling in love. Second dates don’t always equal meant to be.

It’s just that when there’s chemistry, it seems like it is meant to be. And Blondie and I had a great chemistry. But is chemistry enough? It’s enough for us as women, I think…but is it enough for men?

1 Response to "The Chemical Imbalance"

It took me 3 months after knowing my ex-girlfriend for a year to realize that I liked her, there was definitely chemistry but she was just waiting on me to say something, and then it just clicked. I don’t think relationships should be that hard to get into, just hard to maintain lol.

Leave a Reply

