Adventures in Dating Land

Drunken Texts = No More Sober Ones

Posted on: February 23, 2009

So I think I’ve completely screwed things up with the new boy. We’ll call him Blondie. Things were going really well for the past week. We were talking, getting to know each other, and had a successful coffee date.

But then, of course, I went to visit my best friend for her 21st. And one too many tequilas had me completely blacked out, and feeling very talkative. Amidst about ten completely incoherent drunk texts, I called him at about four in the morning. What’s worse is I have no idea what I said. For all I know I’ve professed my undying love to a guy I’ve only known for a week. I texted him this morning and apologized, but he hasn’t answered me back, which is not generally a good sign.

I’m pretty bummed, because even though I didn’t know him well, he was a guy I was really digging, and could have seen it going somewhere.

I think it’s even worse to have all these almosts and not quites with dating, rather than just having no one around for a long time. Even if it only lasts a couple of dates, your heart breaks a little when it doesn’t work out.

The weekend didn’t turn out so great anyway. I apparently fell a LOT while we were at this club, and now have two enormous bruises on my legs and a generally sore body to show for it, plus an enormous hangover.

Hurray for me messing up my life…as usual. WHY is it that people don’t just take other people’s cell phones away from them when they drink too much? Would have saved me a lot of extreme embarassment today, and Blondie would not be blowing me off.

Leave a Reply

