Adventures in Dating Land

These are my hands, these are my faults, these are my plans, and these are my nasty little thoughts.

Posted on: January 5, 2009

I can officially say “Hey, it’s been a while” to this blog. And officially feel creepy and a little disturbed with myself that I’m talking to a free form inanimate infrastructure. But we’ll go with it.

This is the year 2009. When I was in the theatre for “The Spirit”- (HORRIBLE movie by the way…Frank Miller really let down a nation of avid fans with that debauchery) I saw a preview for the movie “2012.” For those of you who haven’t been scared pantless by this forthcoming prophecy, this is the year that apparently the apocalypse is finally paying a visit. An eternal visit…mwahah. (Sorry, couldn’t resist)

Now, although my personal beliefs would conclude that this is not a feasible ending of the world, I have to admit that I’m a little disappointed that Hollywood would exploit Nostradamus and the ancient Mayan prophecies in this way. Aren’t there certain subjects that are off-limits anymore? (Oh wait, I forgot…any farce considering Messiah Obama.)

But what mass amount of egg would be on the face of someone who made that movie, only to wait three years and some catastropic, globally altering event WOULD happen? I think we’re talking eggs benedict here. At least one good thing can be said for this upcoming film…there’s no chance of a sequel.

Secondly, I believe I made the crossover during my winter break; from idiot savant nerd to fully initiated and informed nerdery. This came from a combination of three things:

  1. Seeing more movies than any human should be allowed.
  2. Devloping a THESIS on why I love Buffy the Vampire Slayer (not written, currently in my head).
  3. Reaching level 50 on my lock at WoW (and listening to a WoW podcast…AND understanding about 60% of what they were saying

How on earth will I ever find a man?

One positive productive thing I did accomplish over break was taking up running. I’ve got to say, there is a level of freedom to just moving and breathing. Going just to go. It’s this wild, uninhibited independence that we so rarely get out of life. (And when we do it usually has to be planned on our calendar.)

I think I’m having trouble keeping one train of thought. If I said “story of my life,” would anyone be surprised?

Goals for the week:

  1. Finish a chapter.
  2. Run a mile (without the speedwalking intervals)
  3. Punctually finish all assignments for the next week thoroughly. (Lord, that sounded pretty chotchy. But the intent is still there.)
Leave a Reply

