Adventures in Dating Land

The First Rumble, no, Ramble

Posted on: August 1, 2008

I’ve decided to pull away from Xanga…I’ve had some bad luck with that particular domain, so we’ll give WordPress a try and see if the net fates fare any better with me. On that note, hello world.

Three things I am currently obsessed with at the moment: Joss Whedon (in all his glory), Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog, and line dancing.

I realize that two go together, and one seems random. There isn’t a lot of logic to that, other than to say that this summer has been somewhat revolved around my nights spent at the local country bar on campus. Tuesdays and Thursdays are the nights to go; Tuesdays are slightly more mellow and not for the faint of feet. If you go on Tuesday night, expect to be line dancing the entire time, as this evening is reserved for the serious country sophisticate. Thursdays are a little more lenient to the style, but with that comes a much more rowdy and wild crowd, which unfortunately includes a large number of suspiciously underage appearing girls, scantily clad and falling all over themselves in their stillettos (not an ideal shoe for the dancing of the lines.) But I have spent the better portion of my summer in this club, kicking and jumping and listening to songs about tractors and beer and hick chicks…good summer times.

Joss Whedon, of course, stems from my eternal obsession with Buffyverse. He recently released a new internet musical (Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog.) I could gush…but I wouldn’t want to embarass myself. This truly is yet another work of Whedon genius, and another reason for me to be infinitely jealous of that man’s talent.

Unfortunately, I feel like my summer is coming to an end. The majority of those I’ve spent my time with will be going back to school in a couple of weeks, whereas I still have a solid month before my year starts. Other than the sadness of another summer gone, I thought of something the other day that really hadn’t struck me before. This particular summer holds a certain weight to it, at least in my mind. Next summer, I will more than likely be studying abroad, or at some fabulous internship, and therefore not in town. Even if I was in town, the majority of people I’d look forward to seeing would be doing these various things anyways. This may very well be the last summer for me and my old friends. It’s a sad thought.

Sorry I’m a little scattered today…running on seven hours of total sleep within the last forty-eight hours. The rest of the weekend is looking up with potential: Irish festival tomorrow, and of course Crave Sunday night. I’m hoping to go to the State Fair at some point while it’s running, I still have yet to go. Ever. I’ve been repeatedly told I would be shot if I did not rectify this. Plus, the urge to try something entirely unique in deep friend format is always appealing.

Leave a Reply

